File 2023 Florida Homestead Exemption

Florida homeowners want to save money? If you bought a home in Florida in 2023, listen up! You have until March 1, 2024 to file your homestead exemption. Read on for more details.

What is the homestead exemption?

The Florida homestead exemption is a property tax break for eligible homeowners. It can reduce the taxable value on your primary home by as much as $50,000, saving you up to $750 a year. Additionally, your assessed value cannot increase more than 3 percent annually once you've been granted a homestead exemption.

File your Florida Homestead Exemption

How do I qualify?

To qualify, you must meet the following requirements as of January 1 of the year in which you are filing:

  • Be a permanent Florida resident
  • Own and occupy the property as your permanent residence
  • Hold title or beneficial interest to the property
  • Be a U.S. citizen or possess a Permanent Residence Card

How is the Homestead Exemption benefit calculated?

  • Homes with an assessed value of up to $50,000: $25,000 base exemption
  • Homes with an assessed value of $75,000 and higher: $50,000 ($25,000 base exemption + $25,000 additional exemption)

There are additional exemptions that apply to certain people:

  • Additional $500 Exemption: Surviving spouses, individuals who are legally blind, and non-veterans who are totally and permanently disabled
  • Additional $5,000 Exemption: Veterans with a service-related disability of at least 10% (applies to the surviving spouse who was married to the veteran at death and for 5-years preceding death)
  • 100% Exemptions (No Ad Valorem Taxes): Quadriplegics, veterans who have a service-connected 100% disability and surviving spouses of a veteran who died while on active duty.

When do I filea Florida Homestead Exemption?

Under Florida law, homeowners must file for a homestead exemption by March 1 of the tax year for which the exemption is being requested. So if you bought in 2023 you are now eligible to file now.

File your Florida Homestead Exemption

Why should you file for a homestead exemption?

One of the biggest benefits is the Homestead Exemption can lower your property tax bill on your primary residence in Florida. In fact, the Homestead Exemption lowers your assessed value by as much as $50,000, saving you money.

The Homestead Exemption provides homeowners with several benefits including:

  • Protection of the family (legal life estate)
  • Protection of homestead from forced sale
  • Tax exemption of up to $50,000
  • Size restriction of the protected homestead is 160 acres outside the city or .5 acre within city
  • Personal property protection ($1,000 value)

What do I need to file?

Here are the documents you may need for Homestead Exemption*:

  • Florida Voter’s Registration Card
  • Florida Driver’s License
  • Florida Vehicle Registration
  • Recorded Warranty Deed for the Property
  • Current Electrical Utility Bill (In your name with service prior to January 1st)
  • Social Security Number (for all owners)

You must reside in the property as of December 31st and must file for homestead exemption on or before March 1st. Bring all necessary documentation for all owners appearing on the deed. All applicants are required to sign the application for Homestead Exemption. *Check your county for exact paperwork needed.

File your Florida Homestead Exemption

How do I file for homestead exemption?

It’s QUICK, EASY and FREE! You can file for the exemption with the county where your property is located either in person, online or via mail.

Hillsborough County Property Appraiser’s Office

601 E. Kennedy Boulevard, 15th Floor, Tampa, Florida 33602

(813) 272-6100

File online here

Pasco County Property Appraiser’s Office

14236 6th St., Ste. 101, Dade City, FL 33523

(352) 521-4433

File online here

Pinellas County Property Appraiser’s Office

315 Court Street. 2nd Floor, Clearwater, FL 33756

(727) 464-3207

File online here

Hernando County Property Appraiser’s Office

201 Howell Avenue, Suite 300, Brooksville, Fl 34601

(352) 754-4190

File online here

Many county property appraisers have multiple offices. Please look online to see if there is a more convenient location for you if you choose to file in person.

*This basic info on what you are going to need to do to file for Homestead Exemption in Florida. Of course always seek legal advice from a Florida real estate attorney if you have questions.

NOTE: If you have previously filed for Homestead Exemption on the property you live in, you don’t need to do it again. Homestead Exemption automatically renews every year on your primary residence.

Post a Comment

(813) 629-7083